Staff

Jose A. Hernandez

Chief Operating Officer

The Rev. George Handzo, BCC, CSSBB

Director of Health Services Research and Quality

headshot_swintz

The Rev. Sue Wintz, M.Div. APBCC, BCC

Director of Professional and Community Education at HealthCare Chaplaincy Network and the Director of Education for the Spiritual Care Association

The Rev. Brian Hughes, BCC

Director of Programs and Services

The Rev. Peggy Muncie, BCC

Director of Clinical Services

Edward Haran

Vice President of Human Resources and Administration

Paula A. Cenci

Executive Assistant to the President and Chief Executive Officer

Cindy Melero

Executive Assistant to the Chief Operating Officer

Gary Gelfand

Senior Controller

Mark Donato

Manager of Foundation Relations

Christopher Leone

Director of Technology

Franklin Lizausaba

Assistant Director of Technology

Clinical Staff

The professional chaplains on our clinical staff are employed by HealthCare Chaplaincy Network and work at clinical sites in the greater New York area. They are board certified by the Spiritual Care Association (SCA), Association of Professional Chaplains (APC), National Association of Jewish Chaplains (NAJC), or National Association of Catholic Chaplains (NACC).
Elaine Chan (Roman Catholic)

Staff Chaplain
Hospital for Special Surgery
Phone: (646) 714-6632, Fax: 212 717 5731, Pager: 212 606-1644 + 80291
chane@hss.edu

The Rev. Michael Mercier (American Baptist)

Director of Spiritual Care
Rhode Island Hospital, Hasbro Children’s Hospital, Miriam Hospital and Newport Hospital
593 Eddy Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: (401) 444-4304
mmercier@lifespan.org

The Rev. George Handzo (Lutheran, ELCA)

Director, Health Services, Research and Quality
HealthCare Chaplaincy
505 Eight Avenue, Suite 900
New York, NY 10018
(Office) (212) 644-1111 ext. 234 (Fax) (212) 758-9959
ghandzo@healthcarechaplaincy.org

Sister Kim Nguyen (Roman Catholic)

Staff Chaplain
The Miriam Hospital
164 Summit Avenue
Providence, RI 02906
kim.nguyen@lifespan.org

Chaplain Margo Heda (Jewish, Orthodox)

Staff Chaplain
Hospital for Special Surgery
535 East 70th Street
New York, NY 10021
(Office) (212) 606-1757 (Fax) (212) 717-5731 (Pager) # 1188
hedam@hss.edu

Sister Margaret Oettinger, O.P. (Roman Catholic)

Director of Pastoral Care
Hospital for Special Surgery
535 East 70th Street
New York, NY 10021
(Office) (212) 606-1757 (Fax) (212) 717-5731 (Pager) (212) 606-1644 #21555
oettingerm@hss.edu

Helen Kurczynski

Chaplaincy Manager
Patient Experience
University Hospital
150 Bergen Street
Newark, New Jersey 07103
Phone: 973-972-1943
kurczyhf@uhnj.org

Chaplain Patrice Robichaux (Assembly of God)

Rhode Island Hospital and Hasbro Children’s Hospital
593 Eddy Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: (401) 444-4304

Benjamin Luoma (Unitarian Universalist)

Rhode Island Hospital and Hasbro Children’s Hospital
593 Eddy Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: (401) 444-4304

Rabbi Avraham Rosenthal (Jewish, Orthodox)

Staff Chaplain, Lead
The Miriam Hospital
164 Summit Avenue
Providence, RI 02906
arosenthal1@lifespan.org

The Rev. Jacqueline Lynch (A.M.E)

Chaplain/Manager
St. Mary’s Hospital for Children
29-01 216th Street
Bayside, NY 11360
Phone: (718) 281-8852
jlynch@stmaryskids.org

Sister Sandra Salazar (Roman Catholic)

Staff Chaplain
Rhode Island Hospital, Hasbro Children’s Hospital and Newport Hospital
593 Eddy Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: (401) 444-4304
sandra.salazar@lifespan.org

Chaplain Jane Maglio (Roman Catholic)

Staff Chaplain, Lead
Rhode Island Hospital and Hasbro Children’s Hospital
593 Eddy Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: (401) 444-4304
jane.maglio@lifespan.org

The Rev. Daniel Shenk (American Baptist)

Director of Pastoral Care
St. Mary’s Episcopal AIDS Center
(Tuesday & Friday 9-5; Wed. mornings)
512 West 126 Street
New York, NY 10027
(Office) (212) 665-5992 x 210 (Fax) (212) 665-5892
dshenk@stmaryscenterinc.com

The Reverend Margaret Tuttle (Episcopal)

Staff Chaplain
Hospital for Special Surgery
535 East 70th Street
New York, NY 10021
(Office) (212) 606-1757 (Fax) (646) 797-8362 (Pager) # 21341
tuttlem@hss.edu

Scroll to Top