Chaplaincy Services

Chaplaincy Services

Lifespan, Rhode Island’s first health system, was established in 1994 by Rhode Island Hospital (including its Hasbro Children’s Hospital) and The Miriam Hospital, later joined by Bradley Hospital, Newport Hospital, and Gateway Healthcare. Rhode Island’s leading health care provider, Lifespan is a comprehensive, academic health system affiliated with The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University. Lifespan partners have particular expertise in cardiology (including the state’s only open heart surgery program), pediatric care, cancer treatment, neurosciences, orthopedic care, and psychiatry. Rhode Island Hospital is the Level I trauma center for southeastern New England.
Health Care Chaplaincy Network chaplains provide spiritual care at Rhode Island, Hasbro Children’s, The Miriam, and Newport hospitals as well as four of Lifespan’s outpatient health care clinics. Giving support to patients and their loved ones is integral to Lifespan’s mission: Delivering health with care.
Phone: 401- 444-3500
Website: Lifespan.org

Lifespan Health System: 167 Point Street, Providence, RI 02903
The Rev. Michael Mercier (American Baptist)

Director of Spiritual Care
Rhode Island, Hasbro Children’s, The Miriam, and Newport hospitals
593 Eddy Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401-444-4304
mmercier@lifespan.org

Chaplain Jane Maglio (Roman Catholic)

Staff Chaplain, Lead
Rhode Island Hospital and Hasbro Children’s Hospital
593 Eddy Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401-444-4304
jane.maglio@lifespan.org

Sister Sandra Salazar (Roman Catholic)

Staff Chaplain
Rhode Island, Hasbro Children’s, and Newport hospitals
593 Eddy Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401-444-4304
sandra.salazar@lifespan.org

Benjamin Luoma (Unitarian Universalist)

Rhode Island Hospital and Hasbro Children’s Hospital
593 Eddy Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401-444-4304
BLuoma@Lifespan.org

Rabbi Avraham Rosenthal (Jewish, Orthodox)

Staff Chaplain, Lead
The Miriam Hospital
164 Summit Avenue
Providence, RI 02906
Phone: 401-793-5654
arosenthal1@lifespan.org

Sister Kim Nguyen (Roman Catholic)

Staff Chaplain
The Miriam Hospital
164 Summit Avenue
Providence, RI 02906
Phone: 401-793-5654
kim.nguyen@lifespan.org

Rev. Catherine Perry (Alliance of Baptists)

Staff Chaplain
Newport Hospital
20 Powel Avenue
Newport, RI 02840
Phone: 401-845-1740
Staff Chaplain
Hasbro Children’s Hospital
593 Eddy Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401-444-4304
KPerry7@Lifespan.org

Roberta Whitney

Staff Chaplain
Rhode Island Hospital
593 Eddy Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401-444-4304
Staff Chaplain
The Miriam Hospital
164 Summit Avenue
Providence, RI 02906
Phone: 401-793-5654
RWhitney@Lifespan.org

Scroll to Top